Series I

shelby westfall block

I Found You

 

I found you today.

 

Walking across the street,

today,

I found you.

You were in the snowflakes,

falling from the sky.

You were the deer,

in the park nearby.

Today,

in everything beautiful,

 

I found you.

 

A Soldier’s Christmas

 

You won’t be home this Christmas;

maybe not even next.

For you’re a soldier, brave and strong.

More worthy than the rest.

You’ll get no holiday bonus;

no turkey or champagne.

For you’re a soldier, brave and strong.

You endure the pain.

But what you will get this Christmas,

will be something ever grand.

When they call out for those who served us,

you can proudly stand.

 

No Place to Rest my Love

No place to rest my love,

no forgiving hand to hold,

no quiet glances to a lover,

I wait always in the cold.

So I go to sleep each night,

my love lays dormant by my side,

my body feeling empty

mostly just of pride.


shelbywbio

One thought on “Series I

Leave a Reply

