Welcome Aboard: Living with Alcoholic Parents

shelby thompson block

Growing up, everyone has problems. Granted, some are worse than others, but everyone has their own demons to keep them up at night.

Feels

I was forced to grow up rather quickly because both of my parents are alcoholics.There were many times when I had to be the adult in the situation. Like on my 15th birthday, watching my dad get dragged off in handcuffs for getting his 9th DWI. Or when I was trying to get some sleep for school on Monday, but my mom called me at 2am because she crashed her car and needed me to go pick her up. It really sucks, because when you are little your parents are supposed to be there for you. You think that they are always going to be there to help you if you need it, and they are going to walk right beside you and teach you right from wrong. As a child you don’t plan on your parents leaving you and having to teach you these lessons from behind bars, and you never imagine that you will see them break. I’ve seen the breaking point of both my parents, and those were the worst days of my life.

Dont Like It

I have always been a “daddy’s girl”.  He has always been my best friend. He used to get me whatever I wanted, we went everywhere together, and we always had so much fun until he would get sent back to prison (which wasn’t a rare occurrence). I will always love him with all my heart, but there eventually came a time where I realized that he is not as good of a father as I had made him out to be. He isn’t here for me when I need him the most. He may be just a phone call away, but that is a call I have to wait for since you can’t call into a prison.

Since my dad was always gone I resided in my mother’s house. Up until recently, she denied having an alcoholic’s behavior, but after recent events and being evaluated by a professional, she has since updated her thought process.  I have been forced to move out of her house due to the circumstances.  (I will definitely be sharing these crazy stories, but I will save them for another day.)

Growing up not knowing if one of your parents was going to make it home one night because they decided to drive home drunk kind of forces you to have an optimistic attitude. Hope for the best but expect the worst is my life motto. If I would have sat in my room and made myself sick by thinking about what COULD have happened, I would be a miserable person.

Numb

 

I couldn’t do that. Even though my dad wasn’t always around, he always made sure to remind me that I needed to be a happy person because I had so much to be thankful for. And I really do. I don’t live in a mansion or drive a Mercedes Benz, but at least I am alive and healthy. I have tons of people around me who love me and support me more than I probably deserve, and I am very grateful for that because sadly, not everyone can say that.

This is my life. Welcome aboard.

 

Eh


Editor’s Note:  If you or someone you know is experiencing issues with alcohol/ substance abuse, please visit http://www.aa.org/ for information on where to find help.


shelbytbio

Leave a Reply

